Common Core State Standards

  • The goal of Common Core is to prepare all students to be ready for college and careers. Forty-five states and the District of Columbia have adopted the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), including California. The standards articulate what students are expected to learn, beginning with kindergarten and continuing at every level, through the 12th grade. 
    Duarte Unified School District has provided our teachers professional development opportunities on the CCSS and will continue to offer resources and support. 

    What’s new about the Common Core?

    • Fewer standards to teach at each grade level in favor of greater depth;
    • Literacy skills taught across subject areas;
    • Providing content-rich non-fiction and academic language
    • The integration of math in science and technical subject areas;
    • Sharing of results and best practices across the nation.       

    Duarte Unified principals, teachers, and specialized staff continue to participate in CCSS assessments pilot programs, participate in CCSS professional development, order needed instructional materials, and plan technology upgrades so all of our schools and students are actively participating in the new standards. Learn more about Common Core here.


    Parents are an important partner in setting students up for success in school.  A set of road maps for parents with students at each grade level are available online and provide a good description of the progression of learning  through the Common Core in Mathematics(Spanish) and in English Language Arts (Spanish)

    Parent Resources:

    What do parents need to know about Common Core? (PDF) published by Education Northwest

    Common Core Standards Parent Handbook (incl. grades K-8) prepared by the California County Superintendents Educational Services Association.