• I am thrilled to call Royal Oaks my home and have the pleasure of working with your students. 

    I am a Southern California native, born and raised in the San Gabrile Valley. My parents immigrated from Europe, lived in South America, and finally settled in the California. As I was growing up, English was not my first language, and I remember going to kindergarten and wondering why English was the only language that was spoken. Those first few primary years were tough.

    I attended Cal Poly Pomona, earning my Bachlor of Science, and the University of Laverne, where I received my Doctorate.

    I came to teaching serendipitously; on the suggestion of a friend, I tried substitute teaching and loved it! I began my teaching career in special education, but have since transitioned to the general education classroom.  My teaching credentials are through Cal Poly Pomona, Cal State Sacremento, and UCLA. I have worked with students from kindergarten through high school. It's hard to say if I have a favorite grade-level, as each group has its own unique benefits.

    I am also the proud mom of two great kids. My son has since graduated high school and is attending college. He sees himself as a future engineer. My daughter currently attends the joint program between CSArts and Royal Oaks, in the creative writing conservatory. That's right, I have two teenagers! Additionally, my immediate family still lives in the area and we all enjoy spending time together. Our home is rounded out with an ever changing selection of animals, from dogs and cats, to snakes and chameleons. Sometimes, it's a real zoo!

    I try to have a life outside of work and kids. I love to be outdoors; gardening, hiking, at the beach, or in the mountains. As you can imagine, traveling makes me happy. I enjoy watching sports, and am a huge fan of both the Dodgers and Bruins. At home, I enjoy cooking and baking (but not the cleaning up). I am also an avid reader.